Why finding a random family to live with abroad is a great idea :

Lots of people ask me about au pairing , how it works etc . And for me it’s always worked out pretty good. You literately cruise the internet for a family hiring , use your best judgement to determine if they’re gonna kidnap you or not and book a ticket . Which to many people I suppose sounds crazy , but hey it works !

Moving to another country requires alot of organization, finda job, home/hotel/hostel, friends, car, etc etc. However, choose to be an au pair and BAM none of that stuff is an issue, it’s pretty much done for you. Being an au pair has both pro’s and con’s of course, but it’s got a whole lotta pro’s…

1. You have an actual home to live in. Not a hostel, not a hotel and not couch surfing. Normal bathroom, bedroom, furniture. Having a TV w/ Foxtel/satelleite channels. I also have the huge bonus of a pool and hot tub or “spa”. You literately get a home away from home.

2. FOOD, most au pair jobs come along with “room and board” which covers your groceries. I’ve seen some families that only say they offer a strict “3 meals a day” kind of thing, but still thats 3 meals a day you’re not paying for. For the most part though most families I’ve worked with and what my nanny friends tell me, most families just tell you to throw whatever you need in the cart when you get groceries. My family even shares their wine 🙂

3. A vehicle- not all au pair jobs have this perk, but many do. I have a vehicle at my disposal every single weekday, and weekends and evenings, as long as I plan ahead. I cant even begin to explain what a plus it is to have a vehicle when you’re abroad. Lots of people travelling don’t get this huge plus.  I’m even still allowed to drive it after I’ve scraped into a pole .. or 3.

4. Family- You get an insta family. This can be good or bad, I’ve always had it work out really well personally. The family I’m currently with even came along with an awesome neighboorhood with the nicest people. Just on our street alone I met a ton of people who’ve been so so kind to me (boat trips! Parties! Extra side jobs!).

5. And you get paid- Sometimes I forget, this is actually a job. I have an amazing situation where I only look after one child, who is in school the majority of the day (besides school holidays of course, then I legit WORK).  This would be pretty plum even if all I got out of it was the room and board, but I do also get paid a good weekly wage.

It’s not all sunshine and rainbows, but it’s a pretty sweet way to see the world, get paid and legitimately LIVE, not just travel through, another country.

4 thoughts on “Why finding a random family to live with abroad is a great idea :

    • savanna rae says:

      You should ! I’m so happy I did it , I started off just nannying in different parts of Canada then just up and left and it was the best choice I’ve ever made!

      • oh wow! good for you! 🙂 do you feel this is going to be your professional career? or is it a temporary thing?

      • savanna rae says:

        Noo I’m just doing it mainly to travel , I’m getting a bit burnt out on kids to be totally honest , but for now it works !!

Leave a comment