Journey Down South

Right when I arrived another nanny I met told me she was going to Margaret River on the first weekend of April and invited me, so I booked into the same hostel as her, and I was good to go for my first out of Perth adventure. I drove the van (yes, in addition to the giant SUV I cannot drive, my lovely host family also has an even bigger vehicle, that, you guessed it, I cannot drive) up to Bunburry where American Leandra lives and she took it from there in her convenient little car.

The weekend itself was perfect, I didn’t’ realize how good a weekend “away” would feel. This is starting to feel like home, and the everyday vacation feeling is slowly evaporating so away time was perfect. In a nutshell though, mainly we spent our weekend going out and being social, and maybe having a beverage. Or several.

The Good: 

The Hostel, Margaret Rive Lodge– dirt cheap, met so many people, got a private room without paying for one , and the owner was super nice. We checked out WAY late on Sunday and he didn’t charge us or anything. As an essentially poor person, that’s much appreciated.

photo 4

People– Met SO many great people from everywhere. I love meeting new people, I could talk to strangers for hours. And got to spend the whole weekend with my fellow north american au pair, which is always fun!

The Bad:

People– I’ve mainly only met really nice people here so far, then there was the mouthiest girl at the hostel, and guess what!? She was CANADIAN! I assume any Canadian I meet here will be my BFF, cause, hello, were in one of the most isolated places on earth, and were both from Canada! That should be enough to forge a lovely, forced friendship. This girl however.. not so much.

Packing-  I HATE packing. It stresses me out. What if I pack too much? Too little ? What if it rains? Nude heels? Black heels!? Thus I took an obscene amount of stuff. I promise I used/wore at least half of it.

Ill pack my runners cause of course ill work out while im there. Idiot.

Ill pack my runners cause of course ill work out while im there. Idiot.

Showers- OK the one thing I couldn’t hack about hostel living was the questionable, luke warm showers. What if I saw a spider in there? I’d never recover. I basically stuck my feet in then ran out as fast as humanly possible, then lived on dry shampoo all wknd. I am a suck, what can I say?

 

And The Loser Tourist Moments:

Lemon Tree’s,  I’ve never seen a lemon tree!! I took one off the tree and put it in my water bottle of diet coke and vodka and it was perfection! I hope you can just pop lemons off those tree’s and use them, and they’re not some sort of protected species or anything…?

photo 2-4

 

The Jewel Cave,  This was our token tourist activity for the weekend, and I loved it! Other then some unfortunate folks who smelled very questionable (think dark, cramped cave tour, close quarters..not good) , the tour was great! The lady who ran the tour was so into it and made it fun and interesting. Worth the $25 bucks.

Cowtown..? On the way home we put “home” into the nav and basically zoned out until… we found ourselves in a town full of cow statues! Then we realized we definitely were taking the scenic route but oh well. I can’t remember what this little town was called but something with the word “Cow” in it, thus, they’ve decorated the town with cow statues! Have to put “Cowtown” on my tourist town to do list…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Journey Down South

Leave a comment